main content starts here

Radez educators honored by American Historical Association

January 8, 2015

RadezElementaryAHAwebMultimedia history projects have landed a group of Radez educators a prestigious award bestowed by the American Historical Association (AHA).

Fifth-grade teachers Tara Coppola, Donna Pacatte, Jen Hanes, Meka Osterhoudt, Rosemary Peterson, and Cathy Dewitt, along with School Librarian Laura Gagnon , Library Assistant Pamela O’Connor, Band Director Susan Ginsburg, and Special Education Teacher Elizabeth Bisnett were awarded the Beveridge Family Teaching Award by the AHA at a ceremony held in New York City January 2.

The AHA, in bestowing the award, said the Radez Elementary School education team “brought history to life by integrating mapmaking, audiovisual production, writing, and acting with basic research and project collaboration in producing multimedia local history projects.”

The projects and lessons engaged not only the fifth graders at the heart of the lessons, but also involved students in other grades and the community at large.

The projects “exemplify both excellence in teaching and innovation,” stated the AHA in its awards brochure. “With classroom experience ranging from 8 to 33 years, [the educators] bring a love of history and hands-on learning to their students.”

Category: News, Radez, Teacher Spotlight