main content starts here

French and Spanish Honor Societies induct 37 students

May 1, 2017

Student lighting another student's candle.

The French and Spanish Honor Society recognizes high student achievement and promotes a continuity of interest in French or Hispanic studies. Recently, 37 C-RHS students were inducted into the societies.

The local chapters, founded in 2015 are part of a national organization. The honor society seeks to recognize outstanding achievement in language studies and to promote the learning of languages.

Community service is the cornerstone of the group and collectively they did more than 234 total hours so far this year. In September they held a penny drive to help with the refugee crisis in Europe. In November they held a “Paint and Sip” to raise money for hurricane relief in Haiti. In December many volunteered at the Cobleskill Rotary club’s Breakfast with Santa. In March several helped at the community Empty Bowls. Plans for the spring include a breakfast to honor the seniors and to expand the garden in the circle at the HS.

Visit the district’s Facebook page for more photos from the ceremony. 

New French Members:

Carrie Ackerman

Ethan Chichester

Rachel Comstock

Chloe Fletcher

Steven Maniscalco

Allison Norris

Caitlyn Peck

Justine Salerno


New Spanish Members:

Tristan Bachorik

Andrew Baron

Marcus  Capobianco

Elyse Chamberlain

Madison Crandall

Sydney Dymes

Mallory Fiorillo

Samantha Flood

Alexander Javitz

Robert Lang

Spencer Lindstead

Sophia Lucear

Lisa Massarotti

Nathalia Mazoff

Sarah Mullarkey

Tessa Nicholas

Patrick Nichols

Stefanie Noxon

Donovan Pacatte

Alan Sperbeck

Aryanna Taylor

Sophie Tesla

Alexandrea Walters


Current Spanish Members

Abigail Atkins

Sarah Bates

Emily Benton

Nicholas Bertola

Molly Bulla

Kamryn Desroches

Madalyn Fiorillo*

Taylor Gillespie

Cassidy Hammecker

Emily Jackson*

Sarah Jones

Hana Kim

Amarnie Kooyoomjian-Lawas*

Brennan Loder

Virginia Magdziuk

Emily More

Emma Morlang

Bernadette Nichols*

Alexandra Pacatte

Taylor Pevlor

Hope Pryor*

Emma Rys

Megan Slater

Katelyn Storey

Jasmine VanRegenmortel

Ariana Waage

Harrison Weiss


Current French members

Sarrah Aliewie

Hannah Bradley

Mairead Cooney

Gabrielle Graham

Noah Hantho*

Emily Lasher*

Noelle LaVine*

Lucy Meehan

Britney Merwin

Olivia Pressley


*Officers, Seniors


Category: CRHS